April 17, 2024

The Honorable Representative Camille Y. Lilly	The Honorable Senator Omar Aquino
Assistant Majority Leader, Chair	Chair
Approp. Health & Human Services	Approp. Health and Human Services
Illinois House of Representatives	Illinois Senate
The Honorable Representative Anna Moeller	The Honorable Senator Julie Morrison
Vice-Chairperson	Vice-Chair
Approp. Health & Human Services Committee Illinois House of Representatives	Approp. Health and Human Services Illinois Senate

Dear Leader Lilly, Vice-Chairperson Moeller, Vice-Chair Morrison, and Members --

The undersigned organizations urge you to include at **least \$30.1 million in funding for the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) for grants to certified local health departments via the Local Health Protection Grant (LHPG).** This amount would restore the \$5 million reduction currently proposed in the SFY2025 budget for the department and increase by \$5 million to support the critical services provided by local health departments to ensure the health of our population.

Our organizations are strongly opposed to the proposed reduction in funding which would be damaging to local health departments throughout the state. The SFY2024 LHPG appropriation increase, passed by the General Assembly, was the first significant funding change for the state's 97 certified local health departments (LHDs) in almost two decades and was critical to help them continue to fulfill their statutory requirements as delegate agencies of IDPH.

Certified local health departments in Illinois are on the front lines fulfilling their mandates to protect the public by ensuring safe water, disease control and prevention, safe food, and acting as agents of the State of Illinois for the protection of our communities. The \$5 million in new LHPG funding appropriated for SFY2024 was a turning point and helped address some of the unprecedented demands on the public health system as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. The grant increases led to new minimum funding levels, which allowed LHDs to replace critical staff who retired or left the public health sector and restart programs to accomplish statutory requirements. Reducing funding to SFY2023 levels endangers the ability of local health departments to maintain these staff and continue to effectively implement the vital programs which ensure health protection in our counties.

The undersigned organizations are committed to championing optimal, equitable health and well-being for all. Ensuring adequate funding for certified local health departments to support their workforce, act as agents for the state of Illinois, and protect the health and safety of our communities is critical. Despite the funding increase in FY2024, Illinois' certified local health departments remain woefully underfunded. We urge you to include at least \$30.1 million for the Local Health Protection Grant in the FY2025 State of Illinois Budget appropriation bill as provided by HB4823/SB3301 as amended.

Please contact Tom Hughes at <u>thughes@ipha.com</u> or Conny Moody at <u>cmoody@ipha.com</u> or 217-522-5687 with any questions regarding our request.

Sincerely,

Adams County Health Department AIDS Foundation Chicago (AFC) Bond County Health Department Boone County Health Department Brown County Health Department Bureau Health County Health Dept. Bureau Henry Stark Regional Office of

Education #28 Calhoun County Health Department Carroll County Health Department Cass County Health Department Champaign-Urbana Public Health District

Chicago Department of Public Health Christian County Health Department Clay County Health Department Cook County Dept. of Public Health Cumberland County Health Department DeKalb County Health Department DeWitt-Piatt Bi-County Health

Department Douglas County Health Department Effingham County Health Department Egyptian Health Department Fayette County Health Department Franklin-Williamson Bi-County Health

Department Freedom House Fulton County Health Department Geneseo-Atkinson Food Pantry Greene County Health Department Grundy County Health Department Hamilton County Health Department Henderson County Health Department Henry County Henry County Board of Health Henry County Health Department Henry County Office of Emergency Management

IL Association of Public Health Administrators

Illinois Primary Health Care Association Illinois Public Health Association Illinois Public Health Institute Jackson County Health Department Jasper County Health Department Jefferson County Health Department Jo Daviess County Health Department Kane County Health Department Kankakee County Health Department Kendall County Health Department Kewanee Area United Way Knox County Health Department Lake County Health Department

Community Health Center LaSalle County Health Department Lee County Health Department Lincoln Memorial Hospital Livingston County Public Health Dept. Logan County Dept. of Public Health Macoupin County Public Health Dept. Madison County Health Department Marion County Health Department Marshall County Health Department Mason County Health Department McDonough County Health Department Mercer County Health Department Midwest Asian Health Association Ogle County Health Department **Open Door Health Center of Illinois** Peoria City/County Health Department Perry County Health Department **Pike County Health Department** Putnam County Health Department Randolph County Health Department **Rock Island County Health Department** Sangamon County Dept. of Public Health Shelby County Public Health Department Skokie Health and Human Services Southern IL Public Health Consortium Southern Seven Health Department Springfield Urban League Inc. St. Clair County Health Department Stark County Board of Health Stark County Health Department Stephenson County Health Department Stickney Public Health District The Community Wellness Project The Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce

Valek and Company, Inc. Vermilion County Health Department Wabash County Health Department Warren County Health Department Washington County Health Department Wayne County Health Department Whiteside County Health Department Will County Health Department &

Community Health Center Winnebago County Health Department Woodford County Health Department