WEBINAR: Cultural Competencies for an Aging LGBTQ Population

SPACE IS LIMITED – REGISTER SOON!!!

 

WEBINAR: Cultural Competencies for an Aging LGBTQ Population

 

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

 

8 am HST / 10 am PST / 11 am MST / 12 pm CST / 1 pm EST

(please note the time for your location)

 

This 90 minute webinar will discuss the health and social care needs of older adults in the LGBTQ community. We will highlight the special obstacles faced by this population, opportunities to improve cultural competency and best practices to integrate LGBTQ friendly care into your organization.

 

The target audience includes HRSA grantees, healthcare providers, public health officials, community based organizations and advocates wanting to improve competency in regards to serving the needs of aging LGBTQ patients in their practices.

 

Free registration in advance is required and space is limited. Please feel free to share this announcement with your colleagues.

 

For more information, please contact Valerie Gallo at 415-437-8095 or vgallo@hrsa.gov

 

 

TO REGISTER, PLEASE GO TO:

 

https://hrsaseminar.adobeconnect.com/aging_lgbtq_population/event/registration.html

 

AGENDA

 

How HRSA Is Improving the Lives of the LGBTQ Community

Valerie Gallo, MPH - Public Health Analyst

Amanda Waldrup, MS, CHES – Public Health Analyst

HRSA Office of Regional Operations - San Francisco, CA and Chicago, IL

 

The State of Research into the Aging LGBTQ community

James R. Carter, PhD, MPH – Assistant Professor

Wright State University, College of Liberal Arts, Department of Social Work  - Dayton, OH

 

Meeting the Needs of the Aging LGBTQ Community

Julia Wallace – Case Manager

Tanya Times Witt - Lead Resident Services Coordinator, Triangle Square

Teresa Garcia, BA – Case Manager IV

Los Angeles LGBT Center - Los Angeles, CA

 

LGBT Older Adult Resources & Services Near You

Sherrill Wayland, MSW – Manager of National Projects

SAGE (Services & Advocacy for GLBT Elders) - St. Louis, MO

Comments

comments powered by Disqus